Hindsight

Hindsight, unfortunately, is 20/20 a lot more often than the present moment is. When I look back at the last year, I can see many not-so-great choices I’ve made despite the gentle hints of God’s guidance. The little nudges He gave me through friends or a song or even a TV show or His Word or nature or anything else He allowed in my path now seem to speak so loudly to me. How did I not see His Will and His truth earlier??? 

Hindsight is 20/20. 

I have to ask for God’s patience in my disobedience. My mind is so human, so dependent on instant gratification and what feels right in the moment. God, be patient with me. 

I also have to ask Him to clean up all the messiness I created from not listening to Him in the first place. The mess of my heart, circumstances, decisions; I need Him to fix ALL OF IT. It’s freeing to acknowledge that when I fail to listen to God, only He can bail me out. I feel so inferior to Him and I love it. I depend on Him, and only Him, to make me white as snow.

The last thing I can do is to ask Him to help me to be better from now on. I pray that I’ll listen for His voice sooner and I pray that His voice will drown out the empty desires of my own.

Maybe that sounds crazy in a culture that is so focused on doing what we as individuals want and “listening to our hearts”. But I can tell you first hand that listening to God before listening to myself has saved me from stress, heartache, and confusion…the times I wait to listen to Him until the last minute, I feel fully stressed, broken, and confused.

Don’t wait till it’s in hindsight to listen to God.

 

2 thoughts on “Hindsight

  1. Love the way God is speaking important truths through you in this message. 🙂 A reminder I never get tired of hearing! Looking forward to hearing more from you!!

    Like

Leave a comment